The Texas License to Carry a Handgun, or formerly known as the concealed handgun license and concealed carry permit, is the license required in Texas to conceal or open carry a handgun in public. A.T.F.S. LTC course is officially approved by Texas DPS and is needed to get your License to Carry. This includes a 4-6 hour license to carry class then will proceed to the shooting qualification. New laws in Texas affecting license to carry holders went into affect Sept 1st, 2019. These law updates have been made available in the online class to provide you with the most accurate information available.
The A.T.F.S. LTC course is taught by an instructor with current law enforcement experience in a large municipality. This unique perspective gives additional insight when it comes to concealed carry. The proficiency demonstration consists of the shooting qualification and 1-2 hours of “range instruction”. The information provided is relevant, accurate and applies to the real world.
Anyone 21+ can take the class. The material covered applies to anyone interested in firearms and goes over firearm safety, Texas law, federal law, deescalation techniques, methods of carry and more. A.T.F.S. does not issue the actual license or permits. An application must be completed with Texas DPS for the license to carry. Texas DPS will issue the LTC to you directly.
The certificate issued at the successful completion of this course is valid for 2 years.
All of the material provided relates back to carrying a pistol in public in order to be as safe as possible. Whether you intend to carry a gun or not, this course is great for anyone interested in learning more about the above topics.
Copyright © 2017 A.T.F.S. & Investigations INC- All Rights Reserved.
*Disclaimer* We are in no way affiliated with The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. TXPSB #C04108201 #F07284901